The Open Door

cid_008301c91b2c4efffcc048439189cramptonhome1Thanks for your open door, dear colleague.  It’s been a pleasure to just go in, sit and chat a bit.  What I find is both an open heart and an open mind–genuine approachability.  Maybe even at times a hint of vulnerability.  The ancients called it “transparency”, and it was a principal characteristic that drew the crowds to Jesus…For in Him, they saw no guile.  I appreciate that about you. 
 
Please know that beneath all the bravado and hype of my words about development and communications, is someone longing to make a deeper, spiritual connection to this thing called “fund-raising”.  I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m wanting a religious connection with you, too, and I apologies that, in your company, I’ve not always taken advantage of that possibility.
 
Therefore, may I offer that, the next time I go walking through that open door, we have prayer together; may be even listen to a little bit of Rich Mullins, too…  You see, my friend, that’s why I was drawn to this ministry in the first place.  Why, I was drawn to some of the very same things that drew the Apostles to Christ: your sincerity of spirit; and your heart for the poor.
 
So, thanks for offering these whenever I just walk in.
 
My prayer will be that next time I just calm my spirit–and its oft too ambitious professional drive (a nervous habit to be sure)–and simply join my brother in Christ in embracing these virtues.
~ by revdrmichael on April 1, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Open Door”

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. Thanks, Matt, for your kind words. Please, keep coming back for more… Pax.

Leave a Reply

 
