A Poor Excuse

CC MH color

Monday was my first day on my new job.  Which is basically to help secure funds so that the poor among us can eat.  Thus, the very reason I said “yes” when approached by Catholic Charities:  “Feeding the poor, clothing the naked…” is near and dear to the heart of God.  Being involved in such a ministry, I reasoned, would put me closer to His Father heart.  

By the way, did you kow that Henri Nouwen actually wrote a booklet on fund-raising?

I was surprised, too.  He called it, “The Spirituality of Fund-raising”.  I now have a copy.  I have read it many times since acquiring it, and this little tome continues to make me feel better about my choice to fund raise.   Actually, I prefer the phrase “friend-making” to “fund-raising”, because–when you really think about it–people usually give to people, right?  I want to be led by the Holy Spirit to people who want to be “stakeholders” for a non profit corporation that has been set up exclusively to raise monies for the poor. 

Thus, begins my new vocation–“calling”, if you please.  And, I ask for your prayers that in whatever God permits me to achieve on behalf of “the least of these”, that He’ll get all the honor and the glory and the praise! 

+Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam+

~ by revdrmichael on March 31, 2009.

2 Responses to “A Poor Excuse”

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. Again, Matt, thanks… Pax.

Leave a Reply

 
